Skip to main content


Posted: Tue 05 Feb 2013
Author: Football League

Image by:

Help find Town's best strike of 2012

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012and we are asking for your help in deciding which Town goal from the past 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from anyFootball League competition in the 2012 calendar year.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination byemailing your recommendation from the shortlist below to or, alternatively, you can Tweet us the name of the scorer you want to nominate followed by the hashtag #TownGoal


The closing date for entries is midday on Monday, February 11th 2013.


The Town shortlist is as follows:


Jay EMMANUEL-THOMAS v West Ham (H) (31/1/12)

Michael CHOPRA v Coventry (A) (4/2/12)

Lee MARTIN v Birmingham (A) (11/1/12)

Daryl MURPHY v Brighton (A) (2/10/12)

DJ CAMPBELL v Birmingham (A) (3/11/12)

Tommy SMITH v Bristol City (H) (22/12/12)


Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013. The winner will be decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.


Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2010), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2006).


To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit