Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


31 July 2012

Ellington strike earns victory for Blues

Nathan Ellington scored the only goal of the game as Town beat Braintree 1-0 at the Amlin Stadium.

Paul Jewell named Jaime Peters and Ellington in the starting line-up after the duo missed the pre-season tour to Holland last week. 

Cheick Kourouma made his first start for Town in midfield, while new stopper Scott Loach was named on the bench as Arran Lee-Barrett started. 

The game quickly turned into a scrappy, midfield affair although the hosts did go close after seven minutes, with Nicky Symons forcing a low save out of Lee-Barrett.

Town created a first goalscoring opportunity after 25 minutes, with second-year scholar Mark Timlin whipping in a cross that Braintree 'keeper Nathan McDonald gathered at the second attempt.

Shortly after Lee-Barrett was again called into action, tipping a Kenny Davis drive around the post after 26 minutes.

The Iron should have opened the scoring six minutes before the break, but Kieron St Aimie fired over from inside the six yard box following a Josh Dawkin cross.And Alan Devonshire's side went close to breaking the deadlock again just before the break, as Sean Marks capitalised on a short Joe Whight backpass but dragged his shot wide of Lee-Barrett's post. 

Lee-Barrett made another fine save to keep the scores level four minutes after the restart, diving low to palm away a Bradley Quinton drive. 

But it was Town who eventually broke the deadlock with 15 minutes remaining, with striker Ellington seeing his deflected shot loop over 'keeper McDonald and into the net from 25 yards out. 

Lee-Barrett continued his good work in goal by beating a way an effort from Kaine Sheppard with nine minutes remaining, whilst Joe Robinson cleared a Paine header off the line from the resulting corner, as Town held on for the win.

Braintree: McDonald, O'Connor, Habergham, Bailey-Dennis (Wells 59)Paine, McNish (Ward 63), Symons, Davis (Quinton 46), Marks, Dawkin (Sheppard 73) St Aimie. Subs not used: Bryant, Sheppard, Mulley, Wedderburn, Walker.

Town: Lee-Barrett, Peters (Robinson 46) Ainsley, Whight, Bakayoko (October 46) Carson, Hyam, Kourouma, Bullard, Timlin, Ellington. Subs not used: Loach, Thorsteinsson, Winter.

Advertisement block