Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


27 April 2015

The awards and the goals keep coming for deadly Daryl in season of his life

Daryl Murphy has picked up another accolade in his memorable season with a place in the PFA Championship Team of the Year.

The Republic of Ireland international was selected by his fellow professionals for the line-up in a year that has already seen him finish in the top three for Championship Player of the Year, which is voted for by club managers, as well as winning the Sky Bet Player of the Month for December. 

Murph has also bagged the Town Supporters’ Player of the Year award and the Junior Blues’ Player of the Year and is favourite to be named Players’ Player of the Year at the Club’s End of Season awards dinner on Tuesday. 

The striker took his goal tally this term to 25 in the Championship with the first in Town’s 2-1 win over Nottingham Forest at the weekend, becoming the first Blues since Ray Crawford in 1962/63 to reach that milestone.  

Only legendary Town frontmen Ted Phillips and Crawford have scored more League goals in one season than Murph.

The roll of honour reads
Player League goals Season
Ted Phillips 41            1956/57
Ray Crawford 40         1960/61
Ray Crawford 33         1961/62
Ted Phillips        30         1960/61
Ted Phillips 28         1961/62
Ray Crawford 25         1962/63
Daryl Murphy 25         2014/15

Advertisement block