Skip to main content Skip to site footer


12 January 2016

Vote for your favourite Town goal of 2015 to put forward for the Mitre Goal of the Year award

The Football League have launched their search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015 and the Blue Army can have a say in the goal that is nominated as Town’s representative.

We can put forward one goal from any Football League competition in the 2015 calendar year, that’s Capital One Cup as well as Championship games.

The Club have drawn up a shortlist of six goals, with fans urged to vote for their favourite to go forward to the national competition. 

Then supporters will be asked to nominate their number one choice using social media and the selection by the fans will be entered into the Mitre Goal of the Year 2015.

The closing date for fans to tell the Club their nomination is January 29. 

The goal selected by most supporters will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016, held at Manchester Central. 

A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show. 

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the Awards ceremony on April 17.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolves – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

Advertisement block