Skip to main content Skip to site footer


22 June 2016

Newly promoted side will visit Portman Road on opening day whilst Norwich City visit Portman Road on August 20th as new fixtures are revealed

Ipswich Town will kick off the new EFL 2016/17 Championship season with a home clash with Barnsley on the opening day of the season.

Mick McCarthy’s side will then take on Brentford and Wolves both away from home, before hosting East Anglian rivals Norwich at Portman Road on August 20th. 

Town will then end the month by hosting Preston on August 27th. 

The traditional festive fixtures see the Blues host Fulham on Boxing Day, before Bristol City visit Portman Road on New Year’s Eve.

Newly promoted Burton Albion will visit Town on Tuesday, 18th October, with the meet at the Pirelli Stadium pencilled in for April 15th.

Aston Villa and Newcastle will visit Portman Road on October 17th and April 17th respectively, with Town travelling to Villa Park on February 11th and St James' Park on October 22nd.

The reverse East Anglian derby sees Mick McCarthy's side travel to Carrow Road on February 25th. 

Town will wrap up the season with an away fixture, taking on Nottingham Forest at The City Ground on May 7th, with the final home game coming the week before as Sheffield Wednesday visit Portman Road.

The full list of Ipswich Town fixtures are as follows:


Sat Aug 6 BarnsleyH

Wed Aug 10 EFL Cup 1

Sat Aug 13 Brentford A

Tue Aug 16 Wolverhampton Wanderers A

Sat Aug 20 Norwich CityH

Wed Aug 24 EFL Cup 2

Sat Aug 27 Preston North EndH



Sat Sep 10 Reading A

Tue Sep 13 Derby County A

Sat Sep 17 Aston VillaH

Sat Sep 24 Leeds United A

Tue Sep 27 Brighton and Hove AlbionH



Sat Oct 1 Huddersfield TownH

Sat Oct 15 Blackburn Rovers A

Tue Oct 18 Burton AlbionH

Sat Oct 22 Newcastle United A

Sat Oct 29 Rotherham UnitedH



Sat Nov 5 Sheffield Wednesday A

Sat Nov 12 International Date

Sat Nov 19 Nottingham ForestH

Sat Nov 26 Queens Park RangersH



Sat Dec 3 Bristol City A

Sat Dec 10 Cardiff CityH

Tue Dec 13 Birmingham City A

Sat Dec 17 Wigan Athletic A

Mon Dec 26 FulhamH

Sat Dec 31 Bristol CityH


Mon Jan 2 Queens Park Rangers A

Sat Jan 14 Blackburn RoversH

Sat Jan 21 Huddersfield Town A

Sat Jan 28 Preston North End A
Tue Jan 31 Derby CountyH



Sat Feb 4 ReadingH

Sat Feb 11 Aston Villa A

Tue Feb 14 Brighton and Hove Albion A

Sat Feb 18 Leeds UnitedH

Sat Feb 25 Norwich City A


Sat Mar 4 BrentfordH

Tue Mar 7 Wolverhampton WanderersH

Sat Mar 11 Barnsley A

Sat Mar 18 Cardiff City A



Sat Apr 1 Birmingham CityH

Tue Apr 4 Wigan AthleticH

Sat Apr 8 Fulham A

Sat Apr 15 Burton Albion A

Mon Apr 17 Newcastle UnitedH

Sat Apr 22 Rotherham United A

Sat Apr 29 Sheffield WednesdayH


Sun May 7 Nottingham Forest A

Advertisement block