Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


18 May 2017

Mick McCarthy shapes his squad ahead of next season

Town have today confirmed their retained list following the completion of the 2016/17 Championship season.

Leaving the Club following the expiration of their contracts will be Christophe Berra, Paul Digby, Jonathan Douglas, Giles Coke, Leon Best, Jacob Marsden and Joe Robinson.

Mick McCarthy has already confirmed that he would like to keep Jordan Spence and Steven Taylor beyond the end of their short-term deals, with the former Newcastle defender being allowed to return for pre-season training with the view to earning a contract if he can prove his fitness.

Contract offers have also been tabled to Kundai Benyu and Harry Wright.

Academy scholars Kieron Cathline, Ross Meldrum and Kolade Salaudeen will all leave Portman Road after failing to earn professional deals.

Paul Digby has already joined up with a new club, signing for Steve Evans' Mansfield Town. 

Advertisement block