Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 May 2019

Keeper heads up contingent of Town players on the move

Dean Gerken, Grant Ward, Jordan Spence, Tom Adeyemi and Simon Dawkins are among a number of players that have been released by Blues.

The Club have decided against activating 12 month extension options on all five, who are out of contract, and they join Jonas Knudsen in leaving Portman Road.

Dean, who is 34 this week, has been at Town for six years and made 113 appearances in that time while Grant scored eight goals in 98 games for Blues.

He sustained a cruciate ligament injury while playing at QPR in December which has ruled him out for close on a year and Blues' medical team will continue to oversee his recovery. 

Jordan played regularly when Paul Lambert first arrived at the Club in October but did not feature over the last three months of the campaign, Tom has been hindered by injury in the two years he has been at Town while Simon made two substitute appearances after signing a short term contract in January.

Jonas clocked up 155 games for the Club since arriving in 2015 but made it clear in January that he wanted to move on when his contract finished at the end of this season.

James Collins, who was on a short term contract with no extension clause, has also left the Club as have youngsters Conor McKendry, Chris Smith and Ryley Scott.

Advertisement block