Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


5 August 2021

After fans vote - 12 super Blues are portrayed in Sir Alf Ramsey Stand

With the Cobbold Stand windows having had a makeover, the lower concourse in the Sir Alf Ramsey Stand will have a new look in time for the first game of the season on Saturday.  

Back in January 2020 - before the world was turned upside down -  we asked season ticket holders to pick a dynamic dozen of Blues they wanted to see featured on the pillars running through the concourse.

More than 2000 supporters voted and the result can be seen this weekend when fans return to Portman Road in their thousands as the new Gamechanger 20 era gets underway fully against Morecambe.

John Wark topped the poll, with Matt Holland second and Mick Mills only a handful of votes away in third.    

Sir Alf Ramsay pillars 5.JPG

Not surprisingly, the Sir Bobby Robson team of 1981 dominated the voting with Terry Butcher, Kevin Beattie, Paul Mariner, George Burley, Frans Thijssen and Arnold Muhren joining Wark and Mills in representing that era.

Ray Crawford leads the way for the League Championship winning side of 1961/62 while the Play-Off winners of 2000, who also went on to shock the Premier League the following season, get recognition in the form of Marcus Stewart and Jim Magilton, as well as skipper Holland.

Advertisement block