Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


15 March 2022

Players from '50s, '60s, '80s and '90s honoured

Kevin O’Callaghan, David Linighan, Gavin Johnson, Reg Pickett, Ken Malcolm and Doug Millward have all been inducted into the Club's Hall of Fame. 

The six former Blues received the honour during Friday evening’s Former Players Association Hall of Fame Reunion Dinner, which Kieran McKenna, Mark Ashton and Ed Schwartz all attended.

O'Callaghan signed from Millwall in 1980 and was part of Sir Bobby Robson's team who won the UEFA Cup a year later.

Centre-half Linighan and Stowmarket-born Johnson, meanwhile, were both members of the 1991/92 Second Division winning side under John Lyall.

Pickett, Malcolm and Millward, all of whom were honoured posthumously, featured for the Club during the 1950s and 1960s.

Signed by Sir Alf Ramsey in 1957, Pickett was a regular as Town won the Second Division in 1960/61 and made a handful of appearances the following year as the Blues lifted the First Division title.

Malcolm, also a part of the 1961/62 success, has the accolade of captaining Town in their first European match at Portman Road, which was against Floriana Valetta in September 1962. Following his retirement, he was involved in setting up the Club's youth system.

Millward was a member of Ramsey’s teams which won Division Three South in 1956/57 and Division Two in 1960/61. He didn't make an appearance the following year and departed Portman Road in 1963 to join Poole Town. He holds the record for scoring the Club's fastest goal, finding the back of the net after just 10 seconds in a game against Newport County at Portman Road in February 1957.

The six ex-players are the first to be inducted since 2019 - when Jason De Vos and Hermann Hreidarsson were honoured - due to the impact of Covid-19.

HOF inductee 2022.jpg

Advertisement block